headphones/headphone systems for dummies

iPod, walkman, headphones, earphones, boomboxes, etc...

Moderator: dogears

Postby dogears » Wed Apr 19, 2006 3:42 pm

tatalope wrote:mga sir... is the shure in-ear monitors considered as a noise cancellation earphones/headphones??


This is termed as PASSIVE noise cancellation :)
User avatar
dogears
Master
Master
 
Posts: 3971
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:58 pm
Location: Bago magSanPedroLaguna

Postby KEN2 » Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:23 pm

mga sir tanong ko sana, ano ba dapat i consider when replacing or extending the HP cable ?, need extra 2m.HP 120ohms, preamp HP socket 8ohms - 2kohms. is it ok to use microphone cable for the HP ? HP is new and still under warranty.

tia
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby onedown » Fri Feb 16, 2007 8:17 am

what model is your headphone? some models have detachable cables, some do not. in the latter replacing the cable of headphones can only be done by prying it open. i wouldn't recommend it now though, as your headphone is still under warranty.

if all you need is a longer cable, why not try using an extension cable instead?
User avatar
onedown
Master
Master
 
Posts: 3173
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:50 am

Postby KEN2 » Sat Feb 17, 2007 2:37 pm

onedown wrote:what model is your headphone? some models have detachable cables, some do not. in the latter replacing the cable of headphones can only be done by prying it open. i wouldn't recommend it now though, as your headphone is still under warranty.

if all you need is a longer cable, why not try using an extension cable instead?


sir got the AKG k601 parang hindi ata detachable yung cables nito...one shop offers me a 5m ext cable wala ba problema kahit mahaba ? HP is 120ohms ata.

tia
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby botching » Sat Feb 17, 2007 3:30 pm

ken2,
check mo iyong Monster Cables HP extension cables baka available dyan sa inyo. Wag kang bili nung mura (tig 10 sr) pangit tunog sayang lang akg601 mo. Anung difference nito sa akg 701, worth kaya ito at almost double the price ng akg 601?
User avatar
botching
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 1:39 pm

Postby onedown » Sat Feb 17, 2007 7:30 pm

ken,

i haven't tried a cable that long. so far, i've only tried a one-meter cable extension, and had no problems with it. are you that far from the amp?

if you're brave enough, i think replacing the cables is still possible. but you'll have to crack the phones open, which will invalidate the warranty.
User avatar
onedown
Master
Master
 
Posts: 3173
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:50 am

Postby KEN2 » Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:23 pm

botching wrote:ken2,
check mo iyong Monster Cables HP extension cables baka available dyan sa inyo. Wag kang bili nung mura (tig 10 sr) pangit tunog sayang lang akg601 mo. Anung difference nito sa akg 701, worth kaya ito at almost double the price ng akg 601?



sir difference nila unang una sa presyo...almost 2x price K701 compare to 601 pero physically gwapo 701 - stainless ata yung outer head band pati yung ring around the ear bud parang stainless, yung leather sa inner head band ligh camel brow ang kulay. Sound - di ko na na test baka mangunsumi lang ako...he he he but honestly kung looks ang pag babasihan parang ok sya lalo na kung ikaw ang bibili (yakang yaka mo)...Yung pating cables nito parang mas ok compare sa 601..try ko check kung available dito Monster Cable HP extensions... thanks
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby KEN2 » Sat Feb 17, 2007 8:29 pm

onedown wrote:ken,

i haven't tried a cable that long. so far, i've only tried a one-meter cable extension, and had no problems with it. are you that far from the amp?

if you're brave enough, i think replacing the cables is still possible. but you'll have to crack the phones open, which will invalidate the warranty.



sir around 3.5-4 m ata ako mula sa amp, sayang kung ma invalidate yung warranty try ko check net kung paano palit cable/open para sigurado.

tia
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby WillKhitie » Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:08 am

Alam ko yung cables ng mga AKG dumadaan dun sa stainless tubes na nagcoconnect sa headband. Medyo mahirap ata recable yan. :?:
WillKhitie
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Dec 23, 2006 12:14 pm

Postby KEN2 » Sun Feb 18, 2007 4:45 pm

WillKhitie wrote:Alam ko yung cables ng mga AKG dumadaan dun sa stainless tubes na nagcoconnect sa headband. Medyo mahirap ata recable yan. :?:


palagay ko nga mahirap and risky tyaga nalang muna hanap ng magandang extension cable until out of warranty na unit.

thanks
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby onedown » Sun Feb 18, 2007 6:42 pm

ken,

i suggest that you just use an extension cable. i don't think a one- or two- meter extension cable would affect sound that much. by the way, i curious why have to be that far from the amp. will you be using the akg for audio, or ht?
:)
User avatar
onedown
Master
Master
 
Posts: 3173
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:50 am

Postby KEN2 » Sun Feb 18, 2007 9:56 pm

onedown wrote:ken,

i suggest that you just use an extension cable. i don't think a one- or two- meter extension cable would affect sound that much. by the way, i curious why have to be that far from the amp. will you be using the akg for audio, or ht?
:)


I'm using it for audio, unfortunately HP is hookup on the phones of the preamp which is still interconnected to my HT setup on the sala. I'm planning to move the audio/HP to our b rm once i got a dedicated amp for the HP. for now I think extension will do.

thanks
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby onedown » Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:10 am

ken,

ok. good luck in your hunt for the extension. good luck, too, in your hunt for a head amp. :)
User avatar
onedown
Master
Master
 
Posts: 3173
Joined: Thu Mar 06, 2003 11:50 am

Postby botching » Mon Feb 19, 2007 12:47 pm

ken2,
May sale mf xcan ver3 dito ngayon. Will home audition a unit myhself on wed probably and will let you know later kung ok na sa presyo (around sr1100 yata). Kaya lang luman akg ang gagamitin ko ng pang test. Xcan ver2 lang ang available sa akin for comparison.
User avatar
botching
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 1:39 pm

Postby KEN2 » Mon Feb 19, 2007 4:29 pm

botching wrote:ken2,
May sale mf xcan ver3 dito ngayon. Will home audition a unit myhself on wed probably and will let you know later kung ok na sa presyo (around sr1100 yata). Kaya lang luman akg ang gagamitin ko ng pang test. Xcan ver2 lang ang available sa akin for comparison.


sige sir wait ko feedback mo, was planning to get nga Xcan V3 but last week I made a big mistake I purhased Arcam Alpha 1O integrated sa clearance sale kasi 60% off(paid 2240sr) ngayon I'm trying to dispose it (1750) incase hindi ma dispose Ok naman yung preamp section nito even the H Phone output is better than my entry level dedicated preamp (RC03).

Sir yung bang Promitheus TVC comes with a HP socket ? I'm interested kasi sa passive preamp at kung my HP out mas maganda sana.
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby botching » Mon Feb 19, 2007 5:33 pm

james,
Syang nga yung gastos mo sa amp.
Yung promitheus ay walang hp out. lahat yata ng tvc ay wala nito.
Meron ditong SACthailang tvc na pwede mong i audition dito. Kaya lang bagay lang ito sa tube power amp. Sa ss/digital amp na nasubukan namin ay walang magandang epekto siguro dahil walang madagdag na tonal/density enhancements sa power amp na connected.
Pero partnered with a tube amp - aba ang ganda ng effect. naging very transparent ang soundstage. Kung baga dati para kang nakikinig ng stereo na may sandstorm! Or a more ecclesiastic analogy - parang nakita mo iyong seksing kapitbahay mo na bagong dating fully dressed, tapos pagsilip mo uli sa bintana, wala na, ala ng damit :lol:
User avatar
botching
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 1:39 pm

Postby KEN2 » Mon Feb 19, 2007 7:14 pm

botching wrote:james,
Pero partnered with a tube amp - aba ang ganda ng effect. naging very transparent ang soundstage. Kung baga dati para kang nakikinig ng stereo na may sandstorm! Or a more ecclesiastic analogy - parang nakita mo iyong seksing kapitbahay mo na bagong dating fully dressed, tapos pagsilip mo uli sa bintana, wala na, ala ng damit :lol:


sir ok yang tube amp/passive pre combo na yan ah ...maigi pa dyan buhay na buhay audio d2 kc wala gasinong selection even HP, AKG lang available na brand except yung mga pang PC na head/ear phones.

may alam kaba na gumagamit dyan nito http://wiredstate.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=13632
kasi mukhang ok, may barkada ako pabakasyon next month parang interesting dahil passive pre + HP out incase ma dispose ko arcam (may nang hiram/audion last fri at this fri siguro mag decide kung balik nya or keep yung unit )
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Postby botching » Mon Feb 19, 2007 8:33 pm

ok yang pre/fone amp na yan. Nice review na, reasonable price pa - pwede ng kunin. Unfortunately wala dito nyan kaya wala akong masasabi tungkol sa sound quality.
User avatar
botching
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2003 1:39 pm

Postby KEN2 » Tue Feb 20, 2007 5:31 pm

botching wrote:ok yang pre/fone amp na yan. Nice review na, reasonable price pa - pwede ng kunin. Unfortunately wala dito nyan kaya wala akong masasabi tungkol sa sound quality.


sir di pala passive pero switchable yung gain niya...paki post nalang feedback mo sa XcanV3 once na audition na.


tia
KEN2
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 57
Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 7:49 pm

Re: headphones/headphone systems for dummies

Postby keith » Tue Oct 14, 2008 3:37 pm

Hi guys,

Just wanted to ask the experts ... what earphones would you recommend for use with an iPod / iPhone?
User avatar
keith
walastick
 
Posts: 2463
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 10:43 pm
Location: BGC

PreviousNext

Return to Head-Fi

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron