Tips on 100V step down transformer for audio

Moderator: JackD201

Tips on 100V step down transformer for audio

Postby muypogi » Sat Aug 20, 2011 6:58 pm

Hi guys. I might be in the market for a step down transformer for a 100V Japanese amp. Consumption is stated at 190w, pero may unswitched plugs siya na 300w max. So:

1) Is it right to assume I should get something that's upwards of 750W load? Or should it be higher?
2) Should I get:

- a big plain step down transformer (very common, there are some 1000w and 1500w brutes out there in Ace)
- an AVR (though hard to find 100v output in AVR, and the other plugs would be wasted, as I already have power conditioners from JojoD and Xindak)
- combo step down transformer and AVR

Is it correct to assume that assuming the power fed to the amp is more than sufficient, I should be indifferent to whatever I buy?

Thanks!
muypogi
Fanatic
Fanatic
 
Posts: 1794
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:05 am

Re: Tips on 100V step down transformer for audio

Postby qguy » Sat Aug 20, 2011 7:37 pm

Ask jojo if he can convert the 110v to 100v. I think it can be done mechanically for servo AVR's

muypogi wrote:Hi guys. I might be in the market for a step down transformer for a 100V Japanese amp. Consumption is stated at 190w, pero may unswitched plugs siya na 300w max. So:

1) Is it right to assume I should get something that's upwards of 750W load? Or should it be higher?
2) Should I get:

- a big plain step down transformer (very common, there are some 1000w and 1500w brutes out there in Ace)
- an AVR (though hard to find 100v output in AVR, and the other plugs would be wasted, as I already have power conditioners from JojoD and Xindak)
- combo step down transformer and AVR

Is it correct to assume that assuming the power fed to the amp is more than sufficient, I should be indifferent to whatever I buy?

Thanks!
User avatar
qguy
Master
Master
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: Thu Mar 20, 2003 3:23 pm

Re: Tips on 100V step down transformer for audio

Postby 5thpanzer » Sat Aug 20, 2011 11:44 pm

sir assuming if the stated 190watts power consumption is the maximum total power wattage your amp consumes then a minimum 500 watt transformer is enough for it...
5thpanzer
Citizen
Citizen
 
Posts: 78
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2009 4:01 pm


Return to Technical Archives

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests