THE EMT 930 Studio Turntable

super-systems, audio insights...

Moderator: jadis

THE EMT 930 Studio Turntable

Postby jadis » Mon Dec 03, 2007 5:28 pm

The EMT 930 Turntable

My first hand look, and feel, at the so called 'King of Vintage Turntable' - The EMT, from Germany.

I have seen and heard a few vintage tables, Garrard 301s and, briefly, the Thorens 124, and this is my first time to actually touch a vintage table, the EMT 930, on hand in the ARC room of Sensible Audio. Not counting the slight metal corrosion of the body, I should say that this thing is magnificent. Never in my mind, by just looking at it, would I have said that - till I actually put on a cartridge on the supplied tonearm, the 10 inch Ortofon arm with a makeshift AT uni headshell. Aside from adjusting for the VTF, there is basically nothing to adjust, because there is literally no gadget to adjust for azimuth, anti-skate or overhang. Man, so those are "latter day inventions" to drive the user crazy? :lol: Because after all is said and done, when playing record after record, there was no distortion exhibited even in the most complex cuts playing at the highest levels, including the JVC D2D of Flamenco Ole and Mercury's much vaunted Hi Fi ala Espanola. It just played perfectly. This thing gave me a shock as to what modern turtables and arms have done, and what they have NOT done. In my consultation with Setup2, he told me there is no need for a protractor to measure overhang, bec the arm is 10" and naturally the 'null point' will necessarily be a bit forward of the normal position. I couldn't believe that it works! Look ma, no more protractor. :D What the designers then did was to save the user from all sorts of alignment procedures, basically. And what they had that modern tables don't is a built in FLASH LIGHT that beams like a foglight straight to the cartridge for proper landing and needle disaster prevention. :lol: Man, I am as amused as I am impressed. A studio table built like a tank, wi