ST-70 circuit topology limits its performance

ST-70 circuit topology limits its performance

Postby arnoldc » Wed Nov 05, 2003 8:33 am

"The bottom line is: for an audio amplifier to sound good, it should be designed technically correct. That's why one cannot further improve the sound of dynaco st70 even with audiophile-grade components because of its circuit topology that limits its performance!"

the above quote is what is posted at PinoyDVD. i asked the poster how can he make such a bold claim and i am asking those who know about this, and will admit if this is really the case. i am not an expert on tube amp designs so, anybody care to comment?
arnoldc
Legend
Legend

Postby mozilla » Wed Nov 05, 2003 8:56 am

People can argue all they want about circuits 'til their eyes pop out and their faces turn blue.

I can quote several "experts" and here goes one of them:

In the end, I've butchered most of the pieces I own that I've bothered to work on. Exceptions include the Marantz 8B, Marantz 1's, Marantz 10B (actually, I'm not big on modding tuners anyways, as I'm not so clever with the RF stuff), QUAD II's & 22, and of course, the Dynaco 70 (and the little ST-35...) and its' mono twin, the Mk.IV.

I looked at what David Hafler did with that front end in the 70, and I think it's quite brilliant. Many other lesser minds obviously disagreed, or their egos were so blown up that they wanted to put their own stamp on the tube world, usually courtesy of Glass Audio, where at least once a year some dork was writing yet another "Destroy a perfectly good Dyna 70 and put my crap circuit in there instead" article...