Using a fan on Tube amps

For the serious and not so serious in audio: DoItYourself and Tubes (SET, PP, Vintage).

Moderator: kabubi

Using a fan on Tube amps

Postby qguy » Wed Mar 16, 2011 9:04 am

Just curious who among the members here uses a a fan or forced cooling in their amps ?

qguy does...
qguy
Master
Master

Re: Using a fan on Tube amps

Postby rtsyrtsy » Wed Mar 16, 2011 2:33 pm

This is my ears, my gear, my room. So others would have a different experience.

Since I switched from physical CDs to streaming on digital sources, my conclusion has been that having something spinning, even a small electric motor in a transport, makes the background less black.

I'm not an engineer but my guess is that those spinning things inject noise into an electrical circuit so the less of them I have, the better, all else being equal.

On analog, a spinning motor is unavoidable unless somone starts using magnets or blowing air or something to turn a table. :D

In my current case, I'm simplifying my system and am trying to squeeze everyting into one rack. Which basically means bye-bye tubed amps. Mark my words though, this thing between me an tubes is au revoir and not adieu.
rtsyrtsy

Postby jadis » Wed Mar 16, 2011 3:53 pm

I have used a small fan either as exhaust or heat dissipation above the tubes, and also to cool down the power transformer of my tube amps, past and present. The noise is very minimal from my listening seat and though it might contribute to losing some inner detail or whatever, I still value the positive attributes of cooling down a tube amp.
jadis
Legend
Legend

Postby tony » Wed Mar 16, 2011 7:05 pm

I still value the positive attributes of cooling down a tube amp.

i agree, the components underneath the chassis can benefit the most from fan cooling, although the tubes themselves are designed to run hot, unless it says on the data sheet that forced air cooling is required, those tubes would be transmitter tubes.....
tony
Fanatic
Fanatic