Help! DIY tube dampers

For the serious and not so serious in audio: DoItYourself and Tubes (SET, PP, Vintage).

Moderator: kabubi

Help! DIY tube dampers

Postby mahavishnu » Sun Apr 08, 2007 3:34 pm

http://herbiesaudiolab.home.att.net/

im quite new with tubes. i just want to lessen the vibe the tubes are taking in my tweed amp. i want to make my own c-ring dampers with locally available materials. can anyone help or point me where i can get parts? any alternatives or suggestions? THANKS A LOT!
mahavishnu
Citizen
Citizen

Postby alexg » Sun Apr 08, 2007 6:56 pm

Are your tubes microphonic?

I have a line stage with a pair of microphonic 6688, I just put 3 thick O rings on it and it helped. (Make sure the O rings are urethane so it can withstand the heat of the tube).
alexg
Fanatic
Fanatic

Postby Superman » Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:02 pm

alexg wrote:Are your tubes microphonic?

I have a line stage with a pair of microphonic 6688, I just put 3 thick O rings on it and it helped. (Make sure the O rings are urethane so it can withstand the heat of the tube).

hey alex, bro where did you purchase your o-rings?? can you PM mem sample pictures?? i plan to buy from a local dealer here in Davao, thanks! :D
Superman
Master Showman

Postby mahavishnu » Sun Apr 08, 2007 7:52 pm

yes they're microphonic.. and if i do a retube.. sooner or later the new tubes will become too. its a combo amp. the tubes are directly behind the celestion speaker :(

where can i get these O rings? you have a pic?

any more suggestions? thanks!
mahavishnu
Citizen
Citizen

Postby Jon Agner » Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:51 am

Superman wrote:
alexg wrote:Are your tubes microphonic?

hey alex, bro where did you purchase your o-rings?? can you PM mem sample pictures?? i plan to buy from a local dealer here in Davao, thanks! :D

Supes,

I also use the same O-rings for my peanut tubes :wink:
Jon Agner
Legend
Legend

Postby mahavishnu » Tue Apr 10, 2007 10:15 pm

wher can i find em?
mahavishnu
Citizen
Citizen